Requirements for a Formal Marriage
Both applicants must be present, be 18 years or older and:
*Provide current identification issued by this state or another state, the U.S. or a foreign government. (Drivers license, military ID or passport are acceptable forms of identification.) Expired documents are not accepted.
*Know social security number, if applicant has one.
*Provide all information as required on the application and as requested by the Clerk.
*Take the oath printed on the application and sign the application in the presence of the Clerk.
*Pay an $80 fee (or $20 with a Twogether in Texas healthy marriage program certificate.)
If an applicant is under the age of 18, Texas law states that the County Clerk shall issue the license if that person presents an applicable court order, or if the person is 16 years of age or older but under 18 and provides prescribed documentation establishing parental consent and that any prior marriage of the person has been dissolved.
Proxy Marriage or Absent Applicant
*Texas law does allow certain exceptions to the requirement that both applicants appear before the County Clerk to apply for a marriage license. In such situations, another adult may apply on behalf of the absent applicant. The adult present needs to provide some form of ID for the absent applicant.
*A person who is incarcerated may apply for a marriage license using an ABSENT APPLICATION form. However, they MUST be present for the marriage ceremony.
*There is a 72-hour waiting period to get married. The period may be waived by court order. Active duty military are exempt from the waiting period.
Lina Rodriguez, Chief Deputy Clerk, firstname.lastname@example.org Mailing
Address: Courthouse, 1st Floor, Phone: 806-495-4430 Fax:
to the Public: 8:00 AM - 12:, , Monday – Friday
Lina Rodriguez, Chief Deputy Clerk, email@example.com
Address: Courthouse, 1st Floor,
Open to the Public: 8:00 AM - 12:, , Monday – Friday